Yellowface: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperCollins, 2023.
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9780063250840

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang., & R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. (2023). Yellowface: A Novel . HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. 2023. Yellowface: A Novel. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. Yellowface: A Novel HarperCollins, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang, and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. Yellowface: A Novel HarperCollins, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDacd77ba4-7068-ffc7-7712-cf0bc169a718-eng
Full titleyellowface
Authorkuang r f
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-05-24 19:40:00PM
Last Indexed2024-05-24 19:40:00PM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedJan 26, 2024
Last UsedMay 25, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2023
    [artist] => R. F. Kuang
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780063250840_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 15317642
    [isbn] => 9780063250840
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Yellowface
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 336
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => R. F. Kuang
                    [artistFormal] => Kuang, R. F.
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Asian American
            [1] => Fiction
            [2] => Literary
            [3] => Satire
            [4] => Women
        )

    [price] => 3.29
    [id] => 15317642
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => What's the harm in a pseudonym? New York Times bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American-in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl.

Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks.
So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I.
So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song-complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree.
But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves.
With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15317642
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => HarperCollins
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)